Forum Network http://wgbhnews.org en How Do Cells Become Cancerous? http://wgbhnews.org/post/how-do-cells-become-cancerous <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Collected by the </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, Dr. Ana Soto and Dr. Carlos </span>Sonnenschein<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;visited Science for the Public to discuss how cells become cancerous.</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 14:53:53 +0000 Alison Bruzek 26759 at http://wgbhnews.org How Do Cells Become Cancerous? David Rose On The Whimsy and Wonder of Smart Objects http://wgbhnews.org/post/david-rose-whimsy-and-wonder-smart-objects <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by the </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, MIT Media Lab researcher David Rose visited the Harvard Book Store to discuss his book,&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Enchanted Objects:&nbsp;</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><em>Design, Human Desire, and the Internet of Things</em>.</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 14:32:24 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 26681 at http://wgbhnews.org David Rose On The Whimsy and Wonder of Smart Objects Larry Finison On Boston's Bicycling History http://wgbhnews.org/post/larry-finison-bostons-bicycling-history <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by the </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, Larry </span>Finison<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> visited the Museum of African American History to discuss the early history of cycling in Boston.</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:00:00 +0000 Alison Bruzek 26630 at http://wgbhnews.org Larry Finison On Boston's Bicycling History Civil Rights Panel Stands Its Ground 50 Years After the Civil Rights Act http://wgbhnews.org/post/civil-rights-panel-stands-its-ground-50-years-after-civil-rights-act <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Taped by the WGBH Forum Network, a panel of civil rights and law experts gathered at the Museum of African American History to discuss the changes, or lack thereof, in society since the Civil Rights Act of 1964.</p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 13:55:58 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 26100 at http://wgbhnews.org Civil Rights Panel Stands Its Ground 50 Years After the Civil Rights Act Box Brown On One Man's Wrestling Downfall http://wgbhnews.org/post/box-brown-one-mans-wrestling-downfall <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by the </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, comics artist Box Brown visited Brookline </span>Booksmith<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> to discuss his book,&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Andre the Giant: Life and Legend.</em></p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 18:56:32 +0000 Alison Bruzek 25933 at http://wgbhnews.org Box Brown On One Man's Wrestling Downfall Michael Waldman On the Many Faces of the Second Amendment http://wgbhnews.org/post/michael-waldman-many-faces-second-amendment <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, Michael </span>Waldman<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> visited Harvard Book Store to discuss his book,&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">The Second Amendment: A Biography.</em></p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 19:05:00 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 25676 at http://wgbhnews.org Michael Waldman On the Many Faces of the Second Amendment Suzanna Danuta Walters On Why We're Not A Post-Gay Society http://wgbhnews.org/post/suzanna-danuta-walters-why-were-not-post-gay-society <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, </span>Suzanna<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Danuta<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Walters visited Harvard Book Store to talk about her book,&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">The Tolerance Trap: How God, Genes, and Good Intentions are Sabotaging Gay Equality</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 18:50:17 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 25499 at http://wgbhnews.org Suzanna Danuta Walters On Why We're Not A Post-Gay Society Yuly Fuentes-Medel On Enabling Scientific Discovery In Latin America http://wgbhnews.org/post/yuly-fuentes-medel-enabling-scientific-discovery-latin-america <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, researcher </span>Yuly<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Fuentes-Medel<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;visited Science in the News to discuss her work with model organisms in science (i.e. mice and worms).</span></p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 19:39:04 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 25406 at http://wgbhnews.org Yuly Fuentes-Medel On Enabling Scientific Discovery In Latin America Why Do We Need Investigative Journalism? http://wgbhnews.org/post/why-do-we-need-investigative-journalism <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, a panel of investigative journalists gathered at </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;to discuss how they make and break stories.</span></p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 19:04:22 +0000 Alison Bruzek 25400 at http://wgbhnews.org Why Do We Need Investigative Journalism? Jack Devine On The Inner Workings Of The CIA http://wgbhnews.org/post/jack-devine-inner-workings-cia <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, CIA veteran Jack Devine visited Harvard Book Store to discuss his book,&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Good Hunting: An American Spymaster's&nbsp;Story,&nbsp;</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">in conversation with novelist Joseph Finder.</span></p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 13:33:09 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 25319 at http://wgbhnews.org Jack Devine On The Inner Workings Of The CIA Sheldon Krimsky On If Your Genetically Modified Food Is Safe http://wgbhnews.org/post/sheldon-krimsky-if-your-genetically-modified-food-safe <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Collected by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, professor Sheldon </span>Krimsky<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> visited Science for the Public to talk about genetically modified foods and their safety.</span></p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 20:27:41 +0000 Alison Bruzek 25290 at http://wgbhnews.org Sheldon Krimsky On If Your Genetically Modified Food Is Safe Anjali Tripathi On Why It's So Hard To Find New Planets http://wgbhnews.org/post/anjali-tripathi-why-its-so-hard-find-new-planets <p>Collected by WGBH Forum Network, research Anjali&nbsp;Tripathi&nbsp;visited Science in the News to discuss her work looking for planets.</p><p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 18:07:19 +0000 Alison Bruzek 25219 at http://wgbhnews.org Anjali Tripathi On Why It's So Hard To Find New Planets Chris Garris On Why Your Gut Is Like No One Else's http://wgbhnews.org/post/chris-garris-why-your-gut-no-one-elses <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Collected by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, researcher Chris </span>Garris<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> visited Science in the News to discuss his doctoral research on the human gut and its microbes.</span></p><p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 13:50:01 +0000 Alison Bruzek 25200 at http://wgbhnews.org Chris Garris On Why Your Gut Is Like No One Else's Laura Klein On Changing Medicine... With Human Milk http://wgbhnews.org/post/laura-klein-changing-medicine-human-milk <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Collected by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, researcher Laura Klein visited Science in the News to talk about her work looking at milk as medicine.</span></p><p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 13:09:29 +0000 Alison Bruzek 25140 at http://wgbhnews.org Laura Klein On Changing Medicine... With Human Milk Linda Hill & Emily Truelove On The Three Attributes Of Successful Leaders http://wgbhnews.org/post/linda-hill-emily-truelove-three-attributes-successful-leaders <p>Taped by WGBH Forum Network, Harvard professor Linda Hill and M.I.T.&nbsp;researcher Emily Truelove visited the Harvard Book Store to discuss their book,&nbsp;<em>Collective Genius: The Art and Practice of Leading Innovation</em>.</p><p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 17:17:39 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 25047 at http://wgbhnews.org Linda Hill & Emily Truelove On The Three Attributes Of Successful Leaders Extreme Weather: Is It Really Related to Climate Change? http://wgbhnews.org/post/extreme-weather-it-really-related-climate-change <p>Collected by WGBH Forum Network, Harvard graduate students Ethan Butler, Karen McKinnon, and Andy Rhines&nbsp;visited Science in the News to talk about their work on extreme weather and climate change.</p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 16:38:33 +0000 Alison Bruzek 24982 at http://wgbhnews.org Laurence Tribe On The Roberts Court And Interpreting The Law http://wgbhnews.org/post/laurence-tribe-roberts-court-and-interpreting-law <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, constitutional law professor Laurence Tribe visited Harvard Book Store to discuss his book,&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Uncertain Justice: The Roberts Court and the Constitution</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 17:59:04 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 24933 at http://wgbhnews.org Laurence Tribe On The Roberts Court And Interpreting The Law Richard Murray On What The Ocean Can Tell Us About Climate Change http://wgbhnews.org/post/richard-murray-what-ocean-can-tell-us-about-climate-change <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Collected by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, earth and environment professor Richard Murray visited Science for the Public to discuss how his research on ocean sediment relates to climate change.</span></p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 19:16:45 +0000 Alison Bruzek 24736 at http://wgbhnews.org Richard Murray On What The Ocean Can Tell Us About Climate Change Leonora Bittleston On the Strange, Wild Lives of Carnivorous Plants http://wgbhnews.org/post/leonora-bittleston-strange-wild-lives-carnivorous-plants <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, biologist Leonora </span>Bittlestone<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> visited Science in the News at Harvard College to discuss her research with carnivorous pitcher plants.</span></p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:24:23 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 24670 at http://wgbhnews.org Leonora Bittleston On the Strange, Wild Lives of Carnivorous Plants Robinson Fulweiler On How To Watch Your Nitrogen Footprint http://wgbhnews.org/post/robinson-fulweiler-how-watch-your-nitrogen-footprint <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, biologist Robinson "Wally"&nbsp;</span>Fulweiler<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> visited the New England Aquarium to discuss the immortal life of nitrogen.</span></p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 13:39:21 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 24604 at http://wgbhnews.org Robinson Fulweiler On How To Watch Your Nitrogen Footprint Chris Altchek Reveals The Secret Of PolicyMic's Success (It's Not What You'd Expect) http://wgbhnews.org/post/chris-altchek-reveals-secret-policymics-success-its-not-what-youd-expect <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Collected by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, </span>PolicyMic<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> co-founder Chris </span>Altchek<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> visited </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> to talk about </span>his website<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and the future of online journalism.</span></p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 16:14:32 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Ayelet Ronen 24539 at http://wgbhnews.org Chris Altchek Reveals The Secret Of PolicyMic's Success (It's Not What You'd Expect) Stephen Kurkjian On The Armenian Genocide Through The Eyes Of One Photo http://wgbhnews.org/post/stephen-kurkjian-armenian-genocide-through-eyes-one-photo <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Collected by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, former </span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Boston Globe&nbsp;</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">reporter Stephen </span>Kurkjian<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;visited the National&nbsp;Association for Armenian Studies and Research to discuss his research on one remarkable photograph that led to a ten-year search.</span></p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 13:09:36 +0000 Alison Bruzek 24503 at http://wgbhnews.org Stephen Kurkjian On The Armenian Genocide Through The Eyes Of One Photo Anthony Sammarco On The Lost Treasures Of Boston http://wgbhnews.org/post/anthony-sammarco-lost-treasures-boston <p>Taped by WGBH Forum Network, historian Anythony Sammarco visited the Old South Meeting House to discuss his book,&nbsp;<em>Lost Boston</em>.</p><p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 13:50:00 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 24478 at http://wgbhnews.org Anthony Sammarco On The Lost Treasures Of Boston John Mandelman On The Cod-nundrum of Fisheries http://wgbhnews.org/post/john-mandelman-cod-nundrum-fisheries <p>Taped by WGBH Forum Network, senior scientist John Mandelman&nbsp;visited the New England Aquarium to discuss his research on cod in the New England area and protecting the area's population.</p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 17:45:07 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 24391 at http://wgbhnews.org John Mandelman On The Cod-nundrum of Fisheries Timothy Geithner On Saving The Economy, But Losing The Country http://wgbhnews.org/post/timothy-geithner-saving-economy-losing-country <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, former Treasury U.S. Secretary Timothy </span>Geithner<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;visited First Parish Church to speak with Harvard Kennedy School's David </span>Gergen<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> about his book,&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Stress Test: Reflections On Financial Crises</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 16:55:06 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 24269 at http://wgbhnews.org Timothy Geithner On Saving The Economy, But Losing The Country Max Tegmark On Why He Believes In the Multiverse http://wgbhnews.org/post/max-tegmark-why-he-believes-multiverse <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Collected by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, professor Max </span>Tegmark<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> visited Science for the Public to discuss his book,&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Our Mathematical Universe: My Quest for the Ultimate Nature of Reality</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 20:01:52 +0000 Alison Bruzek 24027 at http://wgbhnews.org Max Tegmark On Why He Believes In the Multiverse Aneesh Chopra On Why The Government Should Crowdsource For Innovation http://wgbhnews.org/post/aneesh-chopra-why-government-should-crowdsource-innovation <p>Taped by WGBH Forum Network, first White House Chief Technology Officer Aneesh Chopra visited Harvard Book Store to discuss his book,&nbsp;<em>Innovative State: How New Technologies Can Transform Government</em>.</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 18:05:09 +0000 Alison Bruzek 24019 at http://wgbhnews.org Aneesh Chopra On Why The Government Should Crowdsource For Innovation Jennifer Jacquet On How You Can Help Save Sea Life http://wgbhnews.org/post/jennifer-jacquet-how-you-can-help-save-sea-life <p>Taped by WGBH Forum Network, clinical associate professor Jennifer Jacquet visited the New England Aquarium to discuss how individuals can help stop the destruction of marine life.</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 13:57:59 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Catherine Whelan 23999 at http://wgbhnews.org Jennifer Jacquet On How You Can Help Save Sea Life Francis Blessington Reveals The Mysteries Of The Greek Chorus http://wgbhnews.org/post/francis-blessington-reveals-mysteries-greek-chorus <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, Northeastern English professor Francis </span>Blessington<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> visited The Greek Institute in Cambridge to discuss Greek tragedies and the role of the Greek chorus.</span></p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 20:13:29 +0000 Alison Bruzek 23898 at http://wgbhnews.org Francis Blessington Reveals The Mysteries Of The Greek Chorus What Are The Important Issues This Election? http://wgbhnews.org/post/what-are-important-issues-election <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taped by </span>WGBH<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Forum Network, a panel of professors and policy experts visited Cambridge Forum to discuss the important issues in the 2014 mid-term election.</span></p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 16:07:40 +0000 Alison Bruzek & Marina Argyriou 23881 at http://wgbhnews.org What Are The Important Issues This Election?